Protecting farmland and agriculture in Sullivan County!

Sullivan County Agriculture and Farmland Protection Board

Board Overview

The Sullivan County Agriculture & Farmland Protection Board (AFPB) was established by the Sullivan County Legislature in accordance with Article 25AA §302 of NYS Agriculture and Markets Law. The purpose of the AFPB is to:

  • Encourage farming and agricultural businesses in Sullivan County through local initiatives which create favorable conditions that allow farmersand related agri-business enterprises to operate economically viable enterprises;
  • Advise the Sullivan County Legislature on establishing, modifying, continuing, or terminating agricultural districts;
  • Review Notice of Intent filings pursuant to Agriculture and Markets Law 25AA §305.4 and §305-a;
  • Advise and recommend concerning Purchase of Development Rights conservation easement applications to funding agencies; and
  • Advise, Recommend, Develop, Maintain and Implement the Sullivan County Agriculture and Farmland Protection Plan.

The AFPB consists of eleven members, identified as either Regular or Ex-Officio, nominated by the AFPB and appointed by the Sullivan County Legislature; and includes at least: four active farmers, one agribusiness representative, one member of the County Legislature, a representative from the Sullivan County Soil & Water Conservation District, the Commissioner of the Sullivan County Division of Planning and Community Development, the Director of the County's Real Property Services Office, a Cornell Cooperative Extension Agriculture Educator; and may also include an agricultural land trust representative. Cornell Cooperative Extension Sullivan County currently provides staff assistance to the AFPB for administrative matters.

Current Board Members

Farmer: John Gorzynski, Gorzynski Ornery Farm, Chairman (Term expires 12/31/26)

Farmer: Dan Brey, Breys Egg Farm (Term expires 12/31/24)

Farmer: Tanya Hahn, Hilly Acres Farm (Term expires 12/31/27)

Farmer: Erika Malmgreen, Winterton Farms (Term expires 12/31/27)

Farmer: Eugene Thalmann, Sprouting Dreams Farm (Term expires 12/31/26)

Agri-Business Representative: Dr Joe D’Abbraccio, Catskill Veterinary Services (Term expires 12/31/27)

Soil & Water Conservation District Representative: Willie Hughson (Ex-Officio)

Sullivan County Legislature Representative: Mathew McPhillips

Commissioner of Division of Planning & Community Development: Heather Brown

Director of Real Property Services: Chris Knapp (Ex-Officio)

CCE Sullivan Agriculture Educator: Michelle Proscia (Ex-Officio)

AFPB Bylaws


All correspondence for the Sullivan County Agriculture & Farmland Protection Board (AFPB) should be directed to Cornell Cooperative Extension Sullivan County, to the attention of Melinda Meddaugh, Ag & Food Systems Issue Leader, or 845-292-6180 ext. 116.


Melinda Meddaugh
Agriculture & Food Systems Issue Leader
(845) 292-6180 Ext. 116

Last updated January 25, 2024