Tai Chi paid stock photo

A group of five older adults practicing tai chi, standing with their hands raised.

Export

Tai Chi for Arthritis for Fall Prevention (Summer)

  • Tuesday, July 13, 2021, 9:30 AM - 10:30 AM
  • Thursday, July 15, 2021, 9:30 AM - 10:30 AM
  • Tuesday, July 20, 2021, 9:30 AM - 10:30 AM
  • Thursday, July 22, 2021, 9:30 AM - 10:30 AM
  • Tuesday, July 27, 2021, 9:30 AM - 10:30 AM
  • Thursday, July 29, 2021, 9:30 AM - 10:30 AM
  • Tuesday, August 3, 2021, 9:30 AM - 10:30 AM
  • Thursday, August 5, 2021, 9:30 AM - 10:30 AM
  • Tuesday, August 10, 2021, 9:30 AM - 10:30 AM
  • Thursday, August 12, 2021, 9:30 AM - 10:30 AM
  • Tuesday, August 17, 2021, 9:30 AM - 10:30 AM
  • Thursday, August 19, 2021, 9:30 AM - 10:30 AM
  • Tuesday, August 24, 2021, 9:30 AM - 10:30 AM
  • Thursday, August 26, 2021, 9:30 AM - 10:30 AM
  • Tuesday, August 31, 2021, 9:30 AM - 10:30 AM
  • Thursday, September 2, 2021, 9:30 AM - 10:30 AM

Tai chi is an ancient Chinese martial art that involves fluid, coordinated movements of the legs, arms, and torso. This is the gentle Sun Style tai chi that improves balance, posture, and coordination. All practices are done while standing and no special equipment is needed (except supportive shoes); if the participant is unsteady or not feeling well, the movements can be done while sitting in a chair.

This free program runs twice a week for 8-weeks and practices are for one-hour.


• TCA is for everyone, not just people with arthritis.
• Tai Chi for Arthritis was developed by Dr. Paul Lam with the Tai Chi for Health Institute and is an evidence-based fall prevention program, according to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and the Administration on Aging.

This program is supported through funding from the NYS and Sullivan county offices for the aging.

Contact the CCESC office to request any special accommodations. Registration is requested in advance online.

This event is free. Registration is required online.

Fee

Free

Register

https://cornell.zoom.us/meeting/register/tJItf-morzwsH93VuhRZBcyHoteHUhdFf6v2

Location

This event is online

Last updated March 31, 2021