Tai Chi paid stock photo

Five older adults practicing Tai Chi.

Export

Tai Chi for Arthritis for Fall Prevention

  • Tuesday, October 13, 2020, 3:30 PM - 4:30 PM
  • Thursday, October 15, 2020, 3:30 PM - 4:30 PM
  • Tuesday, October 20, 2020, 3:30 PM - 4:30 PM
  • Thursday, October 22, 2020, 3:30 PM - 4:30 PM
  • Tuesday, October 27, 2020, 3:30 PM - 4:30 PM
  • Thursday, October 29, 2020, 3:30 PM - 4:30 PM
  • Tuesday, November 3, 2020, 3:30 PM - 4:30 PM
  • Thursday, November 5, 2020, 3:30 PM - 4:30 PM
  • Tuesday, November 10, 2020, 3:30 PM - 4:30 PM
  • Thursday, November 12, 2020, 3:30 PM - 4:30 PM
  • Tuesday, November 17, 2020, 3:30 PM - 4:30 PM
  • Thursday, November 19, 2020, 3:30 PM - 4:30 PM
  • Tuesday, December 1, 2020, 3:30 PM - 4:30 PM
  • Thursday, December 3, 2020, 3:30 PM - 4:30 PM
  • Tuesday, December 8, 2020, 3:30 PM - 4:30 PM
  • Thursday, December 10, 2020, 3:30 PM - 4:30 PM

These classes will be offered using Zoom.

This gentle Sun Style form of Tai Chi, approved by the U.S. CDC, has been shown to reduce falls by as much as 70% if practiced routinely. An ancient Chinese practice that combines slow, smooth, and graceful movements) Tai Chi helps to increase strength, balance, and posture. With continued practice, Tai Chi helps to prevent falls. Tai Chi also helps to reduce stress!

The one-hour class includes 10-15 minutes of warmup exercises followed by learning and practicing the basic six Tai Chi movements. Tai Chi is performed while standing; participants may use a chair if balance, strength, or pain is an issue.

Workshop materials for Tai Chi for Arthritis program (handouts) will be sent electronically to participants per NYS DOH Fall Prevention Program guidelines. Participants will view both class leader and Tai Chi for Arthritis DVD 's creator Dr. Paul Lam demonstrate the warmups and the basic movements. Participants will be required to:

  1. Wear supportive footwear (no flipflops/clogs) with good soles
  2. Practice area in their home requires at least 3'x5' that is free of barriers or clutter and has smooth flooring without scatter rugs (no fall hazards)
  3. A computer, laptop, tablet or phone with both audio and video capabilities to be able to view and listen to the instructor.

This program is supported through funding from the NYS and Sullivan county offices for the aging.

Cornell Cooperative Extension is an employer and educator recognized for valuing AA/EEO, Protected Veterans, and Individuals with Disabilities and provides equal program and employment opportunities.

Contact the CCESC office to request any special accommodations.

This program is free. Registration is requested in advance online. After registering, you will receive a confirmation email containing information about joining the meeting.

Fee

Free!

Last updated June 12, 2020